Professor Bodenschatz receives honorary degree

Max Planck Researcher Eberhard Bodenschatz receives honorary degree from École Normale Supérieure in Lyon

April 14, 2015

On April 15, 2015 Prof. Bodenschatz will receive the honorary doctorate degree “honoris causa” from the École Normale Supérieure de Lyon, France. The laudation says: “With his enthusiasm, his depth, and his readiness to address challenging questions, Prof. Eberhard Bodenschatz is a remarkable scientist. He has considerably contributed to strengthen the nonlinear physics community in general, and, in particular, the field of turbulence research.”

Eberhard Bodenschatz received his Ph.D. in theoretical physics in 1989 from the University of Bayreuth. From 1989 until 1992 he was a postdoctoral fellow in experimental physics in UC Santa Barbara working on fluid dynamics, and then became a Professor for Experimental Physics at Cornell University in New York State (1992-2005). Since 2005 Eberhard Bodenschatz has been a Director and Department Head at the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization in Göttingen, and since 2007 Professor at Göttingen University.  In addition, Professor Bodenschatz is an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow, Cottrell Scholar, a Fellow of the American Physical Society and a Fellow of the European Mechanics Society. He also is Editor in Chief of the New Journal of Physics, is currently Head of the Chemical-Physical-Technical section of the MPG and coordinator of the European High Performance infrastructure for Turbulence Research (EuHIT). Since his arrival in Göttingen at the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization in 2005, Professor Bodenschatz has developed the Göttingen Turbulence Facility, in which gases under high pressure are used to examine the fundamental properties of extreme turbulence. His experiments on the microphysics of clouds led him to contribute to the innovative environmental research institute at the Schneefernerhaus on the Zugspitze. For his outstanding research in fluid dynamics the American Physical Society recently (November, 2014) awarded him the prestigious Stanley Corrsin Award. 

Go to Editor View